Skip to main content

About LAND2

Convenors: Iain Biggs (independent), Mary Modeen (Dundee) and Judith Tucker (University of Leeds)

Mission Statement

The creative practice-led research network LAND2,  "land squared", was started in 2002 by Iain Biggs (UWE Bristol) and Judith Tucker (Leeds) as a national network of artist/lecturers and research students with an interest in landscape/place-oriented art practice. Following the expansion of the network, they invited Mary Modeen (Dundee) to join the coordination group.

The network is funded entirely by the constituent members of institutions and individuals in Land2 research networks members, with a central hosting for Land2 at Leeds University. It is often linked with another research network, PLaCE International, hosted at DJCAD, University of Dundee. Members of the network share common interests in how art can engage with the possibilities of landscape / place research as it is understood today, while also recognizing the contested nature of both these terms. The network meets for various symposia and conferences; to facilitate presentations of members’ work; maintains an active web site at  (that both represents the network and serves as an educational resource for those interested in practice-led research into landscape); undertakes occasional group projects and fieldwork, and organises conferences and exhibitions.

We feature members’ work, run interdisciplinary research symposia, and increasingly work in an international, as well as a national, context. These include links with groups, for example the Space&Place Group at the University of Minnesota and we are building more formal links with like-minded artists and academics around the world.

Reports on our symposia and ongoing research, together with details of member’s exhibitions and other activities, are posted on the site. Our achievement in this respect has been recognized by the AHRC, and has served as a model for research networks internationally. Membership of the network is strictly by invitation, and recommendations or nominations should be sent to the three co-conveners.

Judith Tucker (, Mary Modeen (, and Iain Biggs (
July 2017

Visit us on Facebook!